We call it Collaboration Advertising. You and advertisers accomplish something together, and it isn’t an interruption of your day.
You receive 40% of the payment from an advertiser after correctly answering a quick quiz about their ad. Beyond large companies buying verified ads here, supporters of different causes can buy Public Service Announcements (PSAs) to support causes they care about.
Anyone can spread information about the causes you know and care most about in a verified way here, educating someone who is buying their own PSAs to spread less useful information. Your ideas are exchanged, and each of you knows your message was seen and understood.
We solve three big problems for advertisers: fraud, invisibility, and resistance:
1 – Fraud
It’s easy to confirm with a little bit of research that advertising fraud costs companies billions of dollars per year. Bots will view and click ads (to get publishers paid more than they should) and criminals who build those bots are always looking for ways to steal more revenue in less risky ways. We don’t move the advertiser’s payment to charities and account holders until we confirm with a quick quiz that a human saw and understood that ad.
2 – Invisibility
This problem affects almost all forms of advertising: we can end up paying for each time an ad is shown instead of each time an ad is seen and understood. The ad can play when no one is in the room or when the viewer is not paying attention (since they aren’t motivated to). A billboard may or may not be noticed, ad-blocking or masking software may be used to hide online ads, and so on. We eliminate this issue by confirming each ad is visible to each viewer.
3 – Resistance
If the advertiser is not showing their message to a fraud bot, and the ad is actually visible for a human, the problem of resistance comes next when that human actively ignores the ad or even develops a memorable and repeated negative association with the company (“THESE people again….”). We aren’t being motivated to pay attention, the ad is an interruption of something else we’d rather be doing, and we don’t have any shared mission with the advertiser. With our verified ads, we are motivated to pay attention, we watch the ad when we want to (during another un-skippable ad, while waiting in line for something, etc), and the advertiser is helping us move money to great causes and people.
If you are an advertiser interested in the value of solving these problems, please contact me at Aidan@Hiiobi.com. I would like to customize each offer I make to the details of your business, and may be able to provide some free promotion with an agreement to provide more of the service at full price if our agreed upon metrics are met.
We use our own service to promote and sell, and have a basic calculation we use in doing so. We just need two pieces of info: the profit per conversion (conversion meaning a sale or use of a service, it may not necessarily be a sale – the view is converting into a sale, sign up, or other desired action), and predicted success rate (depending on the product this may come from a simple or very complex calculation: it’s just how many people out of one hundred viewers are expected to convert from a view to a desired action, sign up, or sale, as a percentage). Predicted success rate will of course vary based on how much data we have about viewers (from their profile details, cookies, past conversions, etc.), how popular the product is with that audience, and so on. For example, for a high end home improvement and savings service for which we earn $350 per conversion has an expected success rate of 1% among homeowners within certain zip codes (we are estimating this at a low point to account for other factors that could disqualify them from being able to use this service, and to help prevent overspending in the event that an unforeseen factor causes an abnormally low success rate for any given campaign). In sending verified ads to viewers who we know own homes and live within a serviceable zip code, we calculate that our break even point using Hiiobi is as follows:
PPC * PSR = Break Even Price Per Ad
above answer / 2 = price per ad needed for projected two fold return on ad spend
In this example, that is:
$350 * 0.01 = $3.50 per ad to break even. This means at $1.75 for a 30 second ad (40% going to the accountholder, $0.70, effectively $84 per hour), we have an expected two fold return on ad spend even if the conversion rate is only 1%, while avoiding fraud, invisibility, and psychological resistance. We have a shared mission with our accountholders. [example – 1,000 ads at $1.75 is $1,750, 1% or ten in one thousand viewers convert at $350 per conversion, we earn $3,500 after spending $1,750]